Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

For Your Reading Pleasure July 30, 2013

Filed under: For Your Reading Pleasure,Words of Wisdom — Treasuring The Journey @ 12:59 PM
Tags:

Whew, I have been reading a lot of deep, I mean deep, hit-me-to-the-core, sucker punch words lately.  It is like the universe is saying to me “Look up, Listen, and Take Note!”.  Here are a few great blog posts that whispered, screamed, and sang to me all at the same time.  Click the images to read the posts.

 

Brush Off Your Own Story

 

I had an ugly cry on Saturday.  I won’t get into the details, but it was needed and a long time coming and I am thankful I had a friend by my side when it happened.  It is so easy to go with the ‘Fine’ answer when asked how you are doing.  When was the last time someone took the time to ask you how you are REALLY doing, you know, the below-the-surface question?  When was the last time that you took the time to answer that below-the-surface question with the true below-the-surface emotional answer? 

 

 

Becoming More Positive

 

Some people seem to be naturally positive people, others seem to be naturally negative or cynical.  I liked to think I am closer to being naturally positive, but I can quickly and easily get closer to being negative than I care to admit, especially when the stress has been turned up a notch or two, or twenty.  I commend Elizabeth for putting her personal story out there for the world to read, but I commend her even more for her commitment to remaining focused on being more positive each and every day.  A great read from an aspiring new author, my best to Elizabeth in her future writing endeavors and to her personal war against depression. 

 

 

New Mom Advice

 

Even though I am not a ‘new’ mom anymore, as my little boy is almost two and a half years old, most of this advice still applies.  A few snippets that still ring true at newborn, two years, 5 years, 15 years, 30 years, forever….

  • Cut yourself some slack.
  • Parent towards the big picture and know many of the things you fret over aren’t as important as they pretend to be.
  • Learn to ditch the mom-guilt fast, if you don’t squash it when they are tiny it will haunt all your mothering.
  • Don’t forget who you are. It’s easy to get lost in parenting. For “you” to get lost.
  • Give yourself grace as you learn the ropes. Give your children grace too.
  • Let yourself mess up and then dare to admit it, and let them do the same.
  • Your only goal is to raise someone who cares about others and can make good decisions.
  • We all feel like we have no business to be doing what we are doing and that we must be messing it all up.
  • Surround yourself with other parents who can build you up, reassure you, and swap stories (and babysitting) as needed.

 

 

When you  think your love story is boring

 

Pete will probably never ever run through an airport professing his love for me, but that is ok.  His consistent ways each day with our little family show his love for me, and for us, even on the days when he drives me bonkers and gets under my skin.  Love is hard, marriage is harder, but very much worth it.  I needed this good reminder about what love really really really is in the grand scheme of things. 

 

Read anything inspiring, uplifting, funny, or just simply awesome lately? Please share with me in the comments below!

 

Be awesome today!

 

signature2_thumb1

 

Leave a Reply

