Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

Planter – Before & After August 15, 2011

Filed under: Before & After,Plants,Spray Paint — Treasuring The Journey @ 4:31 PM

I picked up this little planter a few weeks back at the Salvation Army for a quarter.  It was in sad shape, a little dirty and dingy.  Would you have picked it up?  I liked the details of it and knew with some spray paint magic it would perk up. 

 

005      006

 

I chose Sunshine Yellow spray paint by Krylon in gloss finish.  I wanted a pop of color for my desk and knew this sunny yellow would do the trick.  I washed away the dirt first and then started spray painting it.  After a few coats of spray paint (I did not use primer on this piece), I added a cactus plant with some pea gravel and VIOLA, so much better! 

 

034

 

Here are shots from overhead and from a different angle. 

 

026   027

 

This peppy planter sits with 3 other plants on my desk.  Here are a few pictures of my other plants on my desk. 

 

033

 

In case you want to know the names of each plant, in clockwise order starting with the turquoise planter…

Mother-In-Law‘s Tongue or Snake Plant (Sansevieria trifasciata), Buddha’s Hand (also called by many other names – Hooded Dwarf, or Hawaiian Hearts Elephant Ear, Chinese Taro, or Alocasia cucullata), a type of Barrell Cactus, and ???.  I do not know the type of cactus in the yellow planter.  Sorry!  Sad smile

 

 

024

 

029

032

 

 

My that planter looks so much better!  Here is a side-by-side comparison. 

 

005   034

 

 

 

Definitely worth the $.25 I paid for it.  I had all the other supplies on hand.  I like the added pop of color to my desk.  Do you decorate with plants?  I have them all over the house, 9 in my office alone! 

 

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

