Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

Sidewalk Salvage August 3, 2011

Filed under: Sidewalk Salvages — Treasuring The Journey @ 4:12 PM

If you know Pete and I, you may know that we are not ashamed or embarrassed to take things off the sidewalk or street that others are throwing out.  Pete has even been known to hop into a dumpster to snatch an item out. On Monday afternoon as I was driving to pick up Cason from daycare, I spotted some old mattresses and a bedframe being pitched out to the street.  No, I did not pick up the old mattresses.  LOL!  I do have some standards for what I will and won’t pickup. 

 

When I drove back by a few minutes later, a headboard had been thrown on top of the pile.  I saw the curves from a block away and was immediately interested.  It was entirely too hot to stop and check it out further and I did not want to leave Cason in the car.  When we headed over to a friend’s house later that night, I asked Pete to swing by and take a look at it with me.  It was still there and I definitely wanted it.  Pete said he would come back later that evening with our truck and pick it up for me.  He is a sweetie like that! 

 

So at 10:30pm I mentioned the headboard again and Pete was off to fetch it for me off the sidewalk. He came back after about 20 minutes and the first thing he said was, “I sure do love you” with an odd expression on his face.  I laughed and said “What happened?”  He proceeded to tell me that as he was picking up the headboard, he stepped in a fresh pile of dog shitake with his sandals on and that somehow it managed to squish between his toes.  He then proceeded to tell me he was headed to the shower.  I tried really hard not to laugh, but his tone and expression were priceless.  I am laughing now as I type this post.  Yes, I have a wonderful husband. 

 

Here is a picture of our sidewalk salvaged item:

 

001

 

Note, please excuse our garage, it is is WRECK!  Please do not judge! 

 

I love the detail of the fleur-de-lis and the inset square panels on the headboard.  We have a queen size bed so we don’t need it for its original purpose.  We did pick up the frame/railings just in case.  The headboard (king size) will reside in our garage for the time being until I figure out what I want to do with it.  Perhaps a bench?  Here  are two examples of a headboard turned bench from two blogs that I read, My Re-Purposed Life and The Lettered Cottage.

 

Example 1:

 

[IM000563[17].jpg]

 

Example 2:

 

IMG_3157[1]

 

So, would you have picked up the headboard from the sidewalk?  If I end up not using it, no sweat.  It was free (except for Pete’s misfortune) and I can always sell the frame/headboard on Craigslist or donate it to Habitat Re-Store.  I will keep you posted on what we end up doing with it. 

 

Yea for sidewalk salvages!  Smile  Thank you honey for picking it up for me.  Sorry about the poo!

 

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

