Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

Overload of Greeting Cards? January 21, 2011

Filed under: Organization — Treasuring The Journey @ 9:18 AM
Tags: ,

Hello Everyone,

I have been away being sick, organizing, meeting huge deadlines at work…blah blah blah. I hope you have been doing great in the New Year. The picture below shows my “word of the day” for the past two weeks. So glad the crunch time has passed!

In addition to work deadlines, I have been working on getting our house more organized, like many of you, and getting ready to tackle the nursery. Tackle has a negative connotation, but I do not mean it that way. This weekend we will be painting the nursery, next will be steam cleaning the carpet, and then I can get everything setup. 🙂 Woo Hoo! We have about 6 weeks left til Baby Peanut arrives and the countdown is on. Tick Tock Tick Tock…

I digress, sorry! The topic of this post is about greeting cards, you know birthday, anniversary, Merry Christmas, thank you cards, and so on. I, like many of you, have issues with throwing away the cards. I have a somewhat large box shown below that I keep my cards in and I try once a year to go through a purge the excess cards.

I felt guilty for recycling or throwing away the cards, but you can’t hang on to everything! It does not mean your Momma loves you any less if you don’t keep each and every birthday card. 🙂 Normally I put ALL cards that I get into this box, this year I had an exception. With getting married, you get a TON of cards from your family and friends and I love all of the nice sentiments in the cards or hand-written notes. I decided to have a separate storage box for our wedding cards. Maybe one day I will part with some of those, but not this year. I will also have the same exception in 2011 in that a big life event is occurring…birth of our first baby! We are already getting cards and I know many more will follow. I will have a separate keepsake box for those as well and maybe one day I can part with some of those precious cards.

Here is my box with my current stash of cards, note this does not include this year’s Christmas cards. I have to locate those, I set them down somewhere!

Ok, so now what. What do I do with my cards you ask? Well, I could be very crafty and re-purpose them for cards to give to other people. Lord knows I have a ton of scrapbook stuff to do it with, but I have found something I like better. I mail my cards to an organization that puts them to use and helps their non-profit organization earn some money. Say ‘hello’ to St. Jude’s Ranch.

St. Jude’s Ranch for Children is a non-profit organization that rescues abused, abandoned and neglected children of all races and faiths from the vicious cycle of child abuse. They provide healing and nurturing in a safe home-like environment where children can learn life skills to start new lives with new chances, new choices and new hope. They have a Recycled Card Program that helps earn money for this organization. People are asked to mail in their used greetings cards (all occasions are accepted) and the children help re-purpose them.

Here is how the program is described on the St. Jude’s Ranch website:
“Operated by Kids, Corp., a program for the children at St. Jude’s Ranch to learn entrepreneurship skills, the children participate in making the new cards by removing the front and attaching a new back. The result is a beautiful new card made by the children and volunteers. The benefits are two-fold: customers receive “green” holiday cards for use and the children receive payment for their work and learn the benefits and importance of “going green”.

So, during my lunch break today, I am going to sort through my cards and get my package ready to send to St. Jude’s Ranch. I no longer have to throw away my cards and feel the guilt and I know they will be put to a good use and be helping a great cause. Yes, it cost me a tiny bit in postage, but it is worth it. I hope you decide to give the Recycled Card Program a try. There is currently a need for more birthday cards and thank you cards. For more information, please visit their website here: http://stjudesranch.org

Have a great weekend!
Iris

 

One Response to “Overload of Greeting Cards?”

  1. Chrisy Says:

    Totally excited about this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I wont feel guilty either way I decide to go; keep or toss! All my cards will be sent to this organization. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Praying for you and yours daily


Leave a Reply

