Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

30 Days of Giving Thanks – Day 17 November 17, 2010

Filed under: 30 Days of Giving Thanks — Treasuring The Journey @ 10:13 PM
Tags: ,

November is the perfect time to pause, count our blessings, and give thanks for the simple things in life.
 
 
If we pause to think, we will have cause to thank.
 
 
Every day in November I want to make sure I stop and remember all of the beautiful blessings I have in my life and give thanks. I hope you join me in giving thanks for the simple things in life during this month of thanksgiving.

 

 

Day 17: I am thankful today for our city provided curbside recycled service. My husband and I are avid recyclers and every Wednesday evening we take our recycling bins to the street to be emptied the next morning by the city’s recycling truck. We regularly have 3-4 bins to put outside and it makes me feel good every week to know we are doing our part to help our planet. The only thing I wish we could put in the recycling bin is glass and I feel guilty every time I put some in the trash. We have been able to reduce the number of garbage bags we fill up each week to typically one bag. So thank you city of Florence, Alabama for providing recycling service to your citizens. I hope this service never goes away!

 

 

Here is a picture of our three bins from tonight (I know I am corny). 🙂 



Wow, Bessie (our Jeep) needs a bath! Please overlook the nasty looking tire!


Does your city offer curb-side recycling?  Do you participate?  If you don’t I strongly encourage you to start!  It is easy and good for our planet!

 
~Iris~

 

2 Responses to “30 Days of Giving Thanks – Day 17”

  1. […] Day 17: I am thankful for curbside recycling service. […]

  2. Michelle Says:

    I love curb-side recycling! It has really helped my family become more aware of taking care of the earth!


Leave a comment