Treasuring The Journey

Treasuring the journey through life, one footstep at a time.

What’s in your Medicine Chest/Cabinet/Closet? October 28, 2010

Filed under: Organization — Treasuring The Journey @ 10:55 PM
Tags: ,

Howdy People!

Hope everyone has had a terrific Thursday and is ready for the upcoming weekend! I know I am.  TGIF (a few hours early)!  I mentioned yesterday in my first blog that I have some OCD tendencies when it comes to organization and I thought I would share my latest organization project with you.  I apologize upfront for not having a before picture, but when I decided to start this closet clean-up I was not thinking that I would write about this organization project for a blog.  So I only have after pictures, but I bet you can get an idea of what the before may have looked like.   A hot mess of medicine/personal hygiene products!

So, I started off by asking Pete to help me clear the closet out and just scrape everything off into boxes.  He obliged knowing I would handle the rest.  I ended up with 3 large boxes of various medicinal items, cologne, lotions, ointments, and a lot of miscellaneous items that never should have been in this closet to begin with.  And yes, we do have a medicine CLOSET…not just a cabinet.  We are ready for almost any type of illness, cut, wound, runny nose, foot fungus (I know, ewww!), sore throat, cough….you name it we are ready.  Oh and I forgot to mention vitamins.  We have a plethora of those.   I tossed away anything old/outdated (we had stuff from 2002 in here OMG!), sorted the items into like groups, and determined baskets would be the most helpful organizational tool for this project. 

Pete and I suffer from the common ailment of needing something, knowing we have it “somewhere”, but can’t find what we are looking for when we need it….therefore we buy more.  Whew, that is a long-named ailment.   This ailment is how we ended up with 4 bags of cough drops, 5 boxes of Band-Aids, various milligrams of ibuprofen, and so on.  You get the idea.  Well, now we know what we have in terms of first aid, cold/flu/sinus, and so on so hopefully we won’t have to make a mad dash to Walgreen’s anytime soon!   The ironic (and fortunate) thing is that Pete and I are RARELY sick, but when we do get sick, we are ready to fight back with a vengence!

So, now it is time for pictures.  First a look at the whole closet…I love green and could not resist these baskets from the Dollar Tree. At $1 a basket, the small price of $12 has cured our ailment! WOO HOO! 

Medicine Closet - Overview

Now for a close-up of the baskets. 

Medicine Closet - Baskets Close-Up

You can see I made labels for each basket.  I L-O-V-E my “Handy-Dandy” Label Maker.  Pete laughs when I call it that, but it is very near and dear to my heart.  🙂  Categories include (since you can’t read them very well in my pictures):  

  • Foot Care/Antacids
  • Cold/Sinus/Flu (2 of these)
  • Vitamins (2) of these
  • Cologne (yes, Pete, has an entire basket full of cologne, yet he normally wears the same kind every day)
  • First Aid
  • Antiseptic/Ointment
  • Pain Relief
  • Body Lotion
  • Shaving Cream/Hair Gel
  • and Eyes/Teeth/Nails

Whew, we have a ton of personal hygiene and medicine products! 

So, what is in your medicine chest, cabinet, or closet?  Is yours organized?  Are you battle ready to fight the war against sickness and ready to perform triage in your home?  LOL!  🙂  I can only imagine how our medicine closet will grow when Baby Peanut gets here!  Oh goodness, I will need more baskets!

Cheers everyone…til tomorrow!

Iris

 

3 Responses to “What’s in your Medicine Chest/Cabinet/Closet?”

  1. […] bins that I used to reorganize my medicine closet. You can read about that organizational project here. They worked great. At $1 a bin you can’t beat the […]

  2. Michelle Says:

    I am not really sure what is in our! 🙂 I think we even have two of them…hmmmm. I try to clean but it is hopeless with two kids and a messy hubby! 🙂 I love you baskets and I love label makers too!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Mandy Says:

    I was thinking as I read that you will need more baskets! Too funny that you said the same thing. What’s funnier is that I cleaned out our medicine cabinet today ~ great minds! Enjoyed your blog! Love you!


Leave a Reply

